Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Images may be broken
VirusZero Offline
Administrator

About Me
RE: Images may be broken
Hey everyone,

Just a quick little heads up that recently it has come to my attention that Imageshack, the image host I've been using for several years to host various images/graphics, has decided to end their free accounts.

They've given all users 30 days of free trial before they have to upgrade to a paid account. <a href='https://imageshack.com/faq' rel='nofollow' target='_blank'>Right now</a> they're stating that images uploaded already won't be removed after the 30 day trial, but after 30 days new images won't be able to be uploaded (without a paid subscription).

But at this point I really don't trust imageshack to uphold that since they've waffled back and forth several times on other things they've done. Things like:
- allowing animated gifs (they allowed them at first, then they didn't and now they allow them again),
- allowing .swfs,
- having a limit of 500 images,
- an upload limit of 1GB
And now they are forcing paid subscriptions just to upload images.
<div class="tableborder"><div class="maintitle" style="margin:1px;cursor:pointer;padding:4px;" onclick="if (this.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('div')[1].style.display == 'none') { this.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('div')[1].style.display = '' } else { this.parentNode.getElementsByTagName('div')[1].style.display = 'none' }">Content Hidden</div><div style="padding:4px;margin:1px;display:none;" class="row2 postcolor"><div>
How much they're charging isn't much, 2$ a month, but it's the point that they are charging that bothers me. Though having to pay 2$ a month just to upload images does seem like a slap in the face anyway since I don't upload images there often enough to justify the cost. I mean the last image I uploaded to Imageshack was around Dec 15th 2013 so it'd be basically 2$ a month to upload one image each month.
</div></div></div>